Cornell elects 19 to Phi Beta Kappa

Nineteen Cornell College students have been elected to Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s most prestigious honor society. Their names will be added to the permanent plaque in Cole Library listing all members of Cornell’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, founded nearly a century ago in 1922.

Story-related photo 962
Phi Beta Kappa Pin: Since 1923 Cornell has been one of fewer than 300 colleges in the United States to shelter a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa.

Elected from among the top 15 percent of the senior class were Danielle Amonica, Kat Armstrong, Ellie Drummond, Allison Eikenberry, Amelia Gunnelson, Emily Maniacci, Eric Medenblik, Asher Muse, Krystal O’Morrow, Dominic Pancella, Yin Peng, Maura Quinn, Tori Routsong, Mara Schwiesow, Chase Sonnemaker, and Kaci Tobin.

Juniors elected from the top 5 percent of their class were Kenna Ebert, Shae Hagler, and Sophie Pionek. 

All members were selected based on good character and a distinguished record of performance in a broad range of liberal arts courses.

Phi Beta Kappa is often described as the country’s most prestigious honor society, due to its long history and academic selectivity. Members include 17 U.S. presidents, 41 Supreme Court justices, and more than 140 Nobel laureates.