Homecoming 2018


Cornell proudly honored these distinguished alumni during Homecoming.

2018 Alumni Award winners
From left: John Toussaint ’78, Doug Michaels ‘64 (representing Flora Shriver Bowers ’63), Dorothy Ashbacher Lincoln-Smith ’58, Eric Sudol ’03, and Kenneth Patterson ’83.

Leadership & Service: John Toussaint ’78 is one of the foremost figures in the adoption of enterprise excellence principles in health care. He practiced medicine for 20 years. He founded and is executive chairman of Catalysis, a nonprofit education institute that works with health care leaders worldwide to deliver quality, efficient patient care.

Leadership & Service: Flora Shriver Bowers ’63 (represented by Doug Michaels ’64) has demonstrated the highest ideals of leadership and service. As a minister, she started the Spokane chapter of the Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) and created the “Strength for the Journey” interdenominational support retreat for people with HIV.

Distinguished Achievement: Dorothy Ashbacher Lincoln-Smith ’58 has been an ambassador for music throughout her life. She is a renowned performer, educator, and leader in her field, and a passionate advocate and supporter of music and the other fine arts. She is president of the National Board of Trustees of the Society of Arts and Letters.

Young Alumni Achievement: Eric Sudol ’03 has built an accomplished career in sports. He earned two master’s degrees from Ohio University while serving as a Young Trustee for Cornell. In 2007 he joined the Dallas Cowboys of the National Football League, where he now serves as vice president of corporate partnership sales and marketing.

Leadership & Service: Kenneth Patterson ’83 has spent his career addressing issues that arise from extreme poverty. After service in the Peace Corps he returned to the U.S. to advocate on behalf of programs that work with the impoverished. For 13 years he has been a member of RESULTS, most recently as director of global grassroots advocacy.

2018 Athletic Hall of Fame recipients
Cornell’s Athletics Department honored its 2018 Hall of Fame inductees (pictured from left): Matt Casebolt ’98 (football, track & field), Mike Duroe (wrestling coach, inducted posthumously and represented by his partner, Lisa Ikola), Jake Remes ’80 (football), and Sherri Pettit Cooney ’88 (women’s basketball).

Class of 1968 50th reunionClass of 1968 50th Reunion

FRONT ROW: Bruce Beck, Lynne Richards Beck, Leslie Carlson Hanson, Carol Shiner Wilson, Barbara Ramey

ROW 2: David Kline, Chuck Mattson, Cindy Walters Owen, Linda Schinke Llano, Aleta Grillos Trauger, Susan Wiederspan Klipp, Sue Mead Godfrey, Carolyn Warner Elwood, Jim Brown

ROW 3: Sue Chadwick Blandford, Ann Stephens, Bill Owen, Caren Crowther Bedard, Kathy Parish Shives, Gary Van Kempema, Stan Black, Mary Ash Wright, Mary Ann Rees Lyman-Hager

ROW 4: Clint Blandford, Don Jackson, David Austin, Bill Lalli, Coley Baker, Royce Anderson, Dick Myers, Peter Irvine, Frank Leupold

ROW 5: Joe Gebhardt, Jim Wallace, Darryl Varda, Jim Frederiksen, Art Reis, Paul Stark, Jerry Sale, Rob Neff, Gary Ramaeker