Cornell announces hiring of 7 faculty

Six new faculty will join the Cornell community next fall, and one visiting faculty member will become a tenure-track professor.  

With the phased retirements of kinesiology professors Ellen Whale and Steve DeVries, the college has hired Justus Hallam and Christina Johnson as assistant professors. Hallam will specialize in exercise science. He holds a Ph.D. in kinesiology and immunobiology from Iowa State University, and most recently taught at Marywood University in Scranton, Pennsylvania. Johnson will focus on the psychological and social aspects of exercise. She earned a Ph.D. in psychology of sport and physical activity from University of Iowa, where she most recently taught.

With the retirement of Joseph Molleur, the religion department has hired Michelle Petersen as visiting assistant professor of religion. Petersen earned a Ph.D. in religious studies from the University of Iowa. She has experience teaching at Cornell and most recently taught at Mount Mercy University.

Steven Neese will begin teaching psychology as Sue Astley and Carol Enns enter phased retirement. Neese holds a Ph.D. from Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, and most recently taught at Baldwin Wallace University.  He bring expertise in neuroscience to Cornell.

With the departure of Jim Van Valen, the theatre department has hired Caroline Price, who has an M.F.A. in acting from Wayne State University. She has professional experience as an actor and was most recently an assistant professor of performance at Jacksonville State University in Jacksonville, Alabama. Also joining the department as artist-in-residence will be Alvon Reed, who holds an M.F.A. from The University of Iowa with an emphasis in choreography. Reed has professional dance experience and was an Allistair Fellowship Recipient at The Ailey School.

Alyssa Selmer, a visiting assistant professor of Spanish in 2015-16, has been named assistant professor of Spanish. Selmer earned a Ph.D. in hispanic literatures and linguistics from the University of Minnesota.