21 elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Nineteen Cornell College seniors and two Cornell College juniors were elected to Phi Beta Kappa, the country’s oldest and most respected academic honor society. The students will be officially inducted on May 9 before the annual Baccalaureate ceremony.

The seniors are:

  • Katlyn Ann Arndt
  • Kyle James Decker
  • Viet Tien Do
  • Mi Young Gerin Eaton
  • Amir El-Sayed El-Aswad
  • Stacey Harrison
  • Trang Hoang
  • Alexander Raymond Hubers
  • Caitlin Rose Huff
  • Rebekah L. Kurtz
  • Tiffany Jo Lawless
  • Shengkun Li
  • Thao Nguyen
  • Kelly R. Oeltjenbruns
  • Bridget L. Ollesch
  • Rose Reed-Maxfield
  • Caryn Shebowich
  • Tanner Stirrat
  • Jihang Wang

The juniors are:

  • Hannah Schuyler Bostwick
  • Laura Ruth Wetzel

These students will have their names added to the permanent plaque in Cole Library listing all members elected to Cornell’s chapter.

Election is based upon good character and a distinguished record of performance in courses that demonstrate a broad exposure to the liberal arts, i.e., the fine arts, humanities, languages, natural sciences and mathematics, and social sciences, as well as substantive work in areas outside the major. Phi Beta Kappa considers members of the top 15 percent of the senior class and the top five percent of the junior class.

Learn more about Cornell’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter