Social Justice Institute set for July

In July, 48 students from 27 schools will participate in the Social Justice Training Institute, an opportunity for students to gather and do some “personal work” related to social justice issues. The institute will provide a developmental opportunity for students to examine the complex dynamics of oppression and to develop strategies to foster positive change on their campuses and in their communities.

Students who attend the institute will be given the opportunity to explore the identities that make up who they are and better understand the extent to which these identities impact all they do. Through facilitated activities and exercises along with small group dialogue, participants will engage in conversations that will challenge and support them in their journey toward understanding how they can each—individually—impact our global community.

Participating Schools 2011

  • Boise State University
  • Chapman University
  • Coe College
  • College of the Holy Cross
  • Colorado State University
  • Cornell College
  • Georgetown University
  • Illinois State University
  • Iowa State University
  • Macalester College
  • Mills College
  • New York University
  • Pacific Lutheran University
  • Portland State University
  • Rollins College
  • St. Mary’s College of California
  • Stonehill College
  • Texas A&M University
  • Texas Christian University
  • The University of Iowa
  • University of Arizona
  • University of North Carolina-Greensboro
  • University of Northern Colorado
  • University of San Francisco
  • University of Utah
  • University of Wisconsin-River Falls
  • Washington University in St. Louis

The lead faculty are Carmen Rivera from the University of Northern Colorado and Sam Offer from the Washington Consulting Group. One of the founding faculty members of the Social Justice Training Institute, Jamie Washington from the Washington Consulting Group, will welcome participants July 20.

The Core Group Facilitators are Ken Morris (Cornell College), Jomita Fleming (Texas A&M University), Joshua Nelson (Mount Holyoke College), Kristin Crepezzi (Mount Holyoke College), and Mark Villacorta (University of North Carolina-Greensboro).

The 2011 Student SJTI host committee consists of RJ Holmes-Leopold and Becki Elkins, co-chairs; as well as committee members Jill Hopper, Kara Trebil, Ken Morris, Megan Hicks, and Kristi Columbus from Cornell, and Tom Hicks, Erica Geers, and Erik Albinson from Coe College.

Cornell College President Jonathan Brand will welcome all the participants to the College during the opening banquet on July 20, as well.