Ed Sauter and Jim Baty, 2011 Honorary Alumni Award

Ed Sauter and Jim Baty, the Alumni Association of Cornell College gratefully recognizes your commitment to maintaining the architectural and aesthetic integrity of Cornell’s campus and its position on the National Register of Historic Places, by awarding you today the status of Honorary Alumni.

Ed Sauter and Jim Baty
lumni Board President Allan Ruter ’76, Jim Baty, Ed Sauter, and interim President Jim Brown

We especially appreciate your partnership with the college on the renovation of Scott Alumni Center at Rood House and the renovation and expansion of Luce Admissions Center at Wade House. Through your professional skill you have heightened Cornell’s appeal to prospective students and their families. In addition, your local architecture—including Mount Vernon City Hall, Hills Bank & Trust, Southeast Linn Community Center, and the Cedar Amateur Astronomers Observatory—have added beauty and functionality to the community.

In presenting you with this award, we also acknowledge your leadership and community service, which has strengthened Mount Vernon, thereby strengthening the college.

Ed, you are a longtime member and past chair of the Mount Vernon Historic Preservation Commission and president of the Mount Vernon-Lisbon Community Development Group. Jim, we acknowledge your work with town’s annual Heritage Days festival, as a Parks and Recreation coach, and as a lay leader at Mount Vernon United Methodist Church—including as music leader for the multi-denominational vacation Bible school.

In addition to your local leadership, each of you are known in the concrete industry for running the Tilt-Up Concrete Association and the Concrete Foundations Association—both with hundreds of member firms internationally. Ed, you were recognized in 2005 by Concrete Construction magazine as one of the 10 most influential individuals in the concrete industry.

The Alumni Association now welcomes you as part of the Cornell College family and confers upon you the official status of Honorary Alumnus. Congratulations!