21 elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Twenty-one Cornell students have been elected to Phi Beta Kappa, the country’s oldest and most widely-respected academic honor society.

Elected as juniors were Amanda Johnson, Taylor Koch, and Xinrui Zeng. Seniors elected were: Monica Brown, Katie Carty, Liz Davis, Megan Dibbern, Corey Dieser, Katy Dye, George Ellerbach, Liz Erickson, Sophie Gaynor, Joe Harrity, Ellie Hutchison, Allie Jagielo, Chelsea Korpanty, Raghav Kunnawallam Elayavalli, Sean McKenna, Willi Mendelsohn, Aye Mon, and Zoe Sigman.

These students will have their names added to the permanent plaque in Cole Library listing all members elected to Cornell’s chapter.

Election is based upon good character and a distinguished record of performance in courses that demonstrate a broad exposure to the liberal arts, i.e., the fine arts, humanities, languages, natural sciences and mathematics, and social sciences, as well as substantive work in areas outside the major. Phi Beta Kappa considers members of the top 15 percent of the senior class and the top five percent of the junior class. For more information, go to http://orgs.cornellcollege.edu/phi-beta-kappa/index.shtml.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.