Bookmark and Share

Alex Miller, Mesa, Ariz.

May 1, 2012
Alex Miller

Alex Miller

My Roots/About Me
Born on a military base in Seoul, South Korea; raised in Mesa, Ariz. by a single mother. I’m 3/4 Black, 1/4 Japanese.

Areas of Study
Kinesiology

Cornell Activities
Men’s Basketball, Student Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC)

Long Term Goal
Become a personal trainer or a high school teacher and basketball coach. I haven’t decided yet!

Did you have any concerns about fitting in at Cornell?
I was a little concerned at first with how I would adjust to the small town environment. But after a while it grew on me and I came to be quite fond of it. It’s a nice change of pace from living in the city all my life.

What were some of your initial impressions of the campus community?
A lot of my peers told me, “Your experience at Cornell will be what you make of it.” When they first told me this, I didn’t know what it meant. Now in my third year here, I think I’m figuring it out. The relationships that I’ve formed during my tenure at Cornell have served to make it an experience that I’ll cherish long after I’ve graduated.

How have you grown at Cornell?
The relationships I’ve formed with players in the basketball program, past and present, are relationships that have taught me life lessons that can be applied off of the basketball court and in life in general. Being in such a small town also allows the student athletes to really connect with the people who live here already; it’s pretty cool when we go to the elementary school and help them with recess/lunch duty and the kids already know our names from being at sporting events in the past.

What advice would you give to other students of color considering Cornell?
It may take some adjusting, but give it time. The campus has a lot to offer if you look in the right places. Patience is definitely key, not only in coming to Cornell but leaving home in general and learning to adjust to life without your parents always helping you with your homework or taking you to the doctor when you’re sick. That would be my advice—just be patient.

Fun Fact
My little sister graduated early from high school and currently attends Duke University.

 

For more information, please contact Cornell's Director of Media Relations

  • Links




    Our Latest Tweets